The Mid-Year Freak Out Book Tag

mid-year-freak-out-book-tag

Hello There

Just like that, it’s already July and we’re halfway through the year! I thought that to reflect on what I’ve read this year so far, I’d do the Mid-Year Freak Out Book Tag just like last year, because it is such a fun tag to do! This tag was originally created by Chami and Ely. So without further ado, let’s jump right into it!

♡ Best book you’ve read so far in 2019

the-priory-of-the-orange-tree.jpg

Without hesitation, The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon, which also made it to my favourite books of all time! My words can’t do it justice, but from the very beginning I fell in love with it and it has everything I love. It’s a diverse fantasy novel with a queendom and dragons, does one need more? I also adore these characters so much, it has one of my favourite couples ever (and probably my favourite f/f romance) and I miss them so much, there is a 99% chance that I’ll reread it before the end of the year.

♡ Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2019

the-wicked-king.jpg

I haven’t read a lot of sequels to be completely honest, but I adored The Wicked King by Holly Black so much! It was such a strong follow-up to The Cruel Prince, it made me discover more of the world, it had such compelling politics, I adore Jude and I finally made up my mind: I do love Cardan as well. I am so excited for The Queen of Nothing to be released in November, I can’t get enough of this series.

♡ New release you haven’t read yet, but want to

the-kingdom-of-copper

Honestly, I can’t believe I still haven’t read The Kingdom of Copper by S.A. Chakraborty, what have I been doing? The City of Brass was one of my favourite books of last year and I’d really love to reread it before moving on to its sequel, hopefully it’ll happen this summer!

♡ Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

the-harp-of-kings

I already mentioned it in a recent blog post, but I have been anticipating The Harp of Kings by Juliet Marillier for so long now! This one is the first in a trilogy about warrior bards, which is the coolest thing ever, I am so hyped for it! I love how Juliet Marillier weaves folklore into her stories, I’m sure it’ll be beautifully done here once again.

♡ Biggest disappointment

the-house-at-riverton

Unfortunately, I didn’t really like The House at Riverton by Kate Morton and I’m still so mad to have been disappointed that much. It was blurbed as perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and as I had loved The Lake House by the same author, I was confident I’d love this one too. Well… That wasn’t the case at all, I was so underwhelmed and rolled my eyes too many times.

♡ Biggest surprise

the-thirteenth-tale

The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield, which is my second favourite book of the year! While I was reading this book, I couldn’t put it down and read way past my bedtime. It is a gothic novel about stories and uncovering the truth, no matter how bad it can be. Diane Setterfield’s writing was spectacular and it had such a gloomy atmosphere I adored. I have yet to watch the movie adaptation, which stars Olivia Colman, Vanessa Redgrave and Sophie Turner (what a cast!), I am so excited.

♡ Favourite new author

daughter-of-the-forest-marillier.jpg

I wouldn’t say I have a new favourite author just yet, but I might feel differently about it in a few months. However, I feel like Juliet Marillier could make it to this list in the near future. I adored Daughter of the Forest so much, it was splendidly written and it’s one of those books that I feel will stay with me for a very long time. I started reading the follow-up to Daughter of the ForestSon of the Shadows, a few days ago and while I’m not far into it, I adore her writing and it makes me feel at home. Her upcoming book is also my most anticipated release for the second half of the year, so yes, I do believe she could become one of my favourite authors!

♡ Newest fictional crush

As a matter of fact, I don’t really have any new ones? That’s a bit weird for me, but okay. 🤷🏼‍♀️

♡ Newest favourite character

the-priory-of-the-orange-tree

I don’t have any new fictional crushes, but wow do I have a new favourite character! I adore Eadaz uq-Nāra from The Priory of the Orange Tree with all my heart. She’s such a clever, loyal and strong character and I can’t help but admire her. I even named one of my cacti after her, that’s how much I love her (okay, now I want to reread Priory even more).

♡ Book that made you cry

daisy-jones-and-the-six

Definitely Daisy Jones & the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid. Once again, I was a little bit too invested into this story and characters, so I cried during the book, but also for quite some time after finishing it, because I couldn’t believe that it was over and that Daisy Jones & The Six weren’t actually real people. Taylor Jenkins Reid is such an amazing writer.

♡ Book that made you happy

talking-as-fast-as-i-can.jpg

Gilmore Girls is one of my favourite TV shows ever, so I was so happy to read Lauren Graham’s memoir Talking as Fast as I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls (and Everything in Between). Reading her book felt like catching up with a friend and I adored reading about so many of her experiences. My favourite parts were of course the chapters dedicated to Gilmore Girls, what was it like to film it through the years and what was it like to go back to it years after it ended. It was also full of pictures and seeing Lauren through the years and the cast together was everything.

♡ Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

most-beautiful-books

These two beauties, The Priory of the Orange Tree and Spinning Silver (and I loved them both, so that’s a win), I could stare at them all day long.

♡ What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

There are so many books I want to get to before the year ends, but my priorities are to read more of Juliet Marillier’s works, to finally get to The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon, The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss and The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley and to continue reading Robin Hobb’s series, The Liveship Traders being the next one I’ll get around to reading.

So that’s it, so far I’ve had an amazing reading year and I’m so happy I’ve discovered so many *books, especially The Priory of the Orange Tree and The Thirteenth Tale, which are my newest favourite books.

What are your favourite book(s) of the year so far?

lots of love

2 thoughts on “The Mid-Year Freak Out Book Tag

  1. Ahh, I love this tag, even though I’m not familiar with all of the books you mentioned, yay for a good reading year so far 🙂 I’ve heard so much about Priory, I’m so happy you enjoyed it so much. and DAISY JONES. I need to read this book, I adored Evelyn Hugo and want to read everything by the author now, this one sounds so, so good. I love a book that makes me cry so… I’m curious to see if it gives me a lot of emotions too 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s